Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Dodge will race the Charger in Sprint Cup in 2008, not the Avenger

DodgeDodge today confirmed that it will race the Dodge Charger in the Sprint Cup Series in 2008 and beyond, continuing to add to its rich NASCAR tradition. Dodge, which has a storied heritage in auto racing with the Charger, has elected to continue the winning tradition that legends David Pearson, Bobby Isaac and Richard Petty established in the 1970s by designating the Charger as the nameplate Dodge teams will use in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series next year.

“Racing is the core of Dodge’s DNA,” said Michael Accavitti, Director - Dodge Brand and SRT Global Marketing. “Dodge has a racing heritage that spans many different nameplates and models, and the Charger is the cornerstone of that heritage. When NASCAR originally announced the phase-in plan for the “car of tomorrow”, it made sense for Dodge to race the Charger and Avenger. When the decision was made to race only one car next year, we talked with our partners, the more than 2,500 Dodge Dealers across the country, and they expressed overwhelming support for Dodge to continue its motorsports heritage with the Charger nameplate. NASCAR rules permit Dodge to use either nameplate in 2008.

“Since 2001 when Dodge returned to NASCAR, the goal has been to win races and ultimately the championship. Those goals have been accomplished with the Charger previously and we are committed to make it happen again.”

The 2008 Dodge Charger lineup will feature five teams with 12 drivers that are a mixture of seasoned veterans, experienced young talent and champions from other racing series that are newcomers to NASCAR. The Dodge Charger has recorded 136 wins in NASCAR’s premier series with 124 coming during an 11-year span, 1966-1977. Three drivers - Pearson, Isaac and Petty (3) — combined for five championships during that period driving a Charger. After an absence of almost 30 years, Dodge returned to NASCAR competition in 2001 with the Charger returning to the track in 2005.

[Dodge Motorsports/Clear Blue PR]

No comments: